Thursday, September 15, 2005

Unity Government for Kosovo[Kosova]?

In its leading front-page story, Express reports that a Provisional Technical
Government led by experts of political parties could replace the Kosumi
Government in mid-October or early November. According to the newspaper,
KTA deputy Director Ahmet Shala is expected to be appointed Prime Minister of
the Technical Government. The paper says that although formally independent,
Shala is considered to be close to the Kosovo Democratic Party (PDK). According
to Express, yesterday evening Ahmet Shala didn’t deny that his name was being
mentioned for the prime minister’s post. ‘We will talk tomorrow about this. I don’t
know what to say,’ Shala was quoted as saying.
Express claims to have seen a list with the names of Ministers of the Technical
Government, which is oriented toward having experts from the four major political
parties: LDK, PDK, AAK and ORA. The paper says that in an agreement with the
key political leaders, Western diplomats have already prepared the list for the new
government. Diplomats, according the paper, have called this a government of
national unity. The initiative for the formation of this government was reportedly
made in summer this year. ‘After strong accusations by the opposition for
corruption in the Government, Western diplomats started working on this idea in
order to rescue the country from an eventual chaos due to the escalation of
accusations,’ added the newspaper. It also says that SRSG Søren Jessen-Petersen
doesn’t support the initiative.
Express says that according to the list it has seen, Bajram Kosumi, Adem Salihaj,
Melihate Tërmkolli, Astrit Haraqija and Bujar Dugolli would be removed from the
Following is the list of the Ministers of the Technical Government as it appeared on the paper’s front page.

1. Ahmet Shala - Prime Minister
2. Lutfi Haziri Deputy PM and Local Government Minister (LDK)
3. Ilhami Gashi - Trade and Industry Minister (PDK)
4. Ethem Çeku – Energy Minister (AAK)
5. Qemajl Ahmeti – Transport and Communications Minister (LDK)
6. Agim Veliu – Education Minister (LDK)
7. Haki Shatri – Economy and Finances Minister (LDK)
8. Enver Hoxhaj – Youth, Culture and Sports Minister (PDK)
9. Ylber Hysa/Genc Gorani – Interior Minister (ORA)
10. Fatmire Mulhaxha – Public Services Minister (ORA)
11. Nerxhivane Dauti – Justice Minister (PDK)
12. Ardian Gjini – Spatial Planning Minister (AAK)
13. Ahmet Isufi – Work and Social Welfare Minister (AAK)
14. Slavisa Petkovic – Minister for Returns and Communities

No comments: